Playmobil Toys are awesome!

Since my husband and I had to move in with family, there is very little space for us to setup our Landksnechts Gone Wild! sets.  This is our first online comic series where we used toys and constructed sets to create the locations and characters for our story of Renaissance Europe Mercenaries that somehow found themselves transported into 21st Century United States.  For the first three years my husband either constructed furniture or we found little pieces here and there from stores, and I delighted in the skill that my husband exhibited in his construction of these little wonders that made our sets fun to look at.  My imagination could wander as I came up with ideas for situations.  Then I needed office equipment and my husband discovered the charming little office people with their square heads, cubical walls, office chairs and desks, printers, and computers.  They were the perfect way to poke a little fun at the often absurd activities and actions of the current business practices in corporation America.

So when we made the move for economic reasons, we found ourselves with a lot less space and a need to be respectful of our relative’s home, so building props was no longer a reasonable option.  I needed a hospital bed for my next phase of storytelling and it had to be the correct scale as well.  This is when my husband recalled the marvelous Playmobil toys that he had seen back home in the Pacific Northwest.   We searched many stores before finally finding them at Toys R Us, which has only one location where we live now.  I was pleased at the fantastic selections of toy sets that were available from the company and they were all the right size for our Stikfus and The Cubes, the square headed office people, that we are using in the comic strip.  Unfortunately, they did not have the hospital bed set that we required, so we ordered them online.

Wonderful hospital room set - minus the figure and the blanket that also came with set

Notice the wheels on the bed that actually roll like real hospital beds

IV Bottle and see through tube that bends like the real ones

When they arrived, I was so amazed at how nicely constructed they were and the attention to detail was just fantastic.  The hospital bed’s wheels actually roll, and there was an adjustable side shelf for the bed side stand, a drawer that actually opened and things could be stored inside.  While other amazing features to the details of the set were the IV bottle and stand with a see thru rubbery tube that could be attached to the little toy person’s arm.  The parts are fairly small so these toys are for children age 6 and up, but they did not scrimp on the detail or the quality.  I had no idea they still made toys like these.  I used to see stuff like this for Barbie when I was young.   I would have loved to have had these toys when I was a kid.  And thinking along those lines I almost wished I had friends or relatives with small children that I could purchase these for, but sadly these toys are not widely available, at least not in the areas where we have lived on the west coast of the US.

I kinda wondered why these amazing Playmobil toys were not so easily available and then I read the box label.  These are European toys made in Germany and Malta.  Not a German company with toys made in China, but German toys made in Europe.  If this is European quality, like the Preiser and Schleich, then I think I love European or German toys.   Our Landsknecht tents are from Schleich and are also very well made.

Great extra details such as orange juice container and adjustable side shelf

So if you want to give your child toys that are nicely made with attention to detail and allow the child to use their own imagination, then I would whole heartedly suggest trying some Playmobil items.  They have sets for a wide variety of interests from airplanes and helicopters to Egyptian pyramids and European Castles.  Perhaps Kris Kringle will have some for you in your Christmas Stocking or under your Yule Tree this Season.  Have a joyous holiday.

Gretchen Winkler is a Writer, Artist, Radio Show Co-Host, Costume Designer, and ordered Knight. For the past 20 years she has authored several informational websites, started several technical companies, and has been an avid student of art, literature, history, technology.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Inspiration, Online comics, Toys, Uncategorized
2 comments on “Playmobil Toys are awesome!
  1. emmy says:

    Hi! I actually create art pieces out of playmobil and photograph them. If there is something that you need for your comic series, let me know.

    Like

Leave a Reply

