Practice Practice Practice

I have done a long series of paintings that I call practice paintings.  I call them this because I have no real audience or purpose for them other than to learn from the experience of doing them and trying something new.  My most recent painting has come from a practice series that I have begun that explores Norse or Western/Northern European ancient culture.  Some folks would automatically refer to it as Norse Mythology while others understand that it was a much broader way of thinking that covered the entire western northern part of Europe.  From region to region the stories alter and the names of the entities may be changed, but the mindset and basic way of life is pretty much the same.  I think the best aspects of Western Culture comes from these ancient people and has really laid the foundation for the most admirable parts of our society.  I think it is kinda sad that it has been buried under Middle Eastern studies of culture for so many years.  Almost to the point of being forgotten.

So I started a series of practice paintings to explore the concepts of the tree Yggdrasil , the Nine Worlds, and the Entities that are part of this rich culture.  (I have started to write the article about the Heathen Way and Art Exploration – that will come in a later blog.) One of my paintings was very much liked by a friend, so I decided to take another step and put him symbolically into one of these paintings.  This is how Magnus Borrowing Sleipnir was started.

Making a painting for a friend as a gift does bring on a certain amount of stress.  One starts to worry about every little detail and I still feel like the painting is not good enough, but one has to learn to set down the paint brush and go onto the next project.  So presented here in still photos is the first painting in a series that I will share the process of painting.

After I draw the basic shapes onto the canvas, then I start putting down the basic colors.

I work defining areas.

Started work on the focal point of the picture which is the rider and horse.

I start to work on the stanzas of music here and discover that they are very time consuming.

So I discovered that taking a different approach to the music creation may be wise. Painting the stanza lines first before doing any music really helped to speed up the process and make the stanzas look better.

Progress on the music flowed better and then I would proceed to darken space, add the stars, and perhaps add something to my Magnus Borrowing Sleipnir. Something was still missing.

The final version has the rider on the magical horse speeding through the universe with music swirling around and “sparkling” green energy on the rider and horse.  Now comes the tough part – presenting it to Magnus.  I hope he likes it.

G. Winkler © 2012

Gretchen Winkler is a Writer, Artist, Radio Show Co-Host, Costume Designer, and ordered Knight. For the past 20 years she has authored several informational websites, started several technical companies, and has been an avid student of art, literature, history, technology.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Art, Inspiration, Painting, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

