Musical Inspiration

Being a creative person tends to put one into the category of being emotional, and perhaps even volatile in some cases.  There are numerous stories of artists from various genres damaging themselves or giving up the ghost in deep despair.  Van Gogh cut off an ear and possibly killed himself, Kurt Cobain shot himself,  Ernest Hemmingway drank to his health’s detriment until he took his own life in 1961 and these are just a few examples of the many great artists that felt compelled to be emotional and physically destructive.  But there is another side to this intense emotion of artists.

The joy and inspiration artists find is what brings forth all the wonderful stories, pictures, paintings, poems, music, architecture, sculpture, fashion, film, and many other forms of art that manifest as craftsmanship.  It is these moments or states of being in inspirational mode that allows artists to perform their magical creativity.  I have been fighting to reclaim my muse or inspirational state of being for the past few years.  Depression has reared its ugly head like it does to so many artists, so I am always on the lookout for ways to feel inspired.  Well, I think I have found something pretty good.

It’s called Pandora and it’s an online music website that can be used via Android devices or the good old computer through Internet connectivity.  I have been listening to it on and off for the past two weeks and I have been really enjoying it.  All one has to do is type in the name of a band that they want to hear and the system will play that group along with others that have similar styles and as the listener, one can give songs thumbs up or down depending upon your likes.  So I started with Duran Duran and then later I wanted to hear music other than 80’s new wave stuff, so I was able to create another “station” centered around another group, which happened to be Abney Park.  I am discovering all kinds of groups that I never heard played on the radio or music TV.  I love it.  So many wonderful musical artists that have been ignored by music stations and main stream record shops!   And the beauty around this system for an artist like me who likes to write and paint, I can change the moods of what I want to listen to.    So if I want a more energetic and aggressive music that is metal and medieval, I can type in In Extremo and get a “station” that centered around a different style of music.

I whole heartedly recommend trying this website out.  I think services like Pandora will change the music industry and give more musicians a chance at being heard by listeners that would have never known they existed because some marketing executive didn’t think the group would make them a lot of money.

Visit Pandora

G. Winkler © 2012

Gretchen Winkler is a Writer, Artist, Radio Show Co-Host, Costume Designer, and ordered Knight. For the past 20 years she has authored several informational websites, started several technical companies, and has been an avid student of art, literature, history, technology.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Inspiration, Music
2 comments on “Musical Inspiration
  1. PictureS says:

    I agree the internet is such a democratic way of doing things, everyone has the same chance of being heard. Pandora sounds great, I hope it helps you a lot, Unfortunately it’s only available in the US.

    Like

  2. G. Winkler says:

    Really?! So is the website blocked in Europe? That’s a shame if that is so. It’s really a remarkable service and the commercials are at a minimum. (Although I am getting tired of the negative political ads.) I believe one can even purchase the service so that no commercials would exist. I am really surprised. Thanks for letting me know that. I do know of another website that is for classical music that is just terrific and they have listeners from all around the world. http://www.allclassical.org/ If you like classical music, you may enjoy them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

