Seize the Opportunity!

The Fall semester is just about to start and I know my free time will become much less.  Free time is so rare, but when you have it – seize it!  Take advantage of that free time and do something with it. I say this because it is so often that people will dump themselves down in front of the TV set, or now, in front of video games and facebook and waste lots of time.  It is that extra time when greatness or transformation of the self is possible.  I have been sporadically employed since 2007, so I have had a great deal of free time on my hands.  And yes, I have wasted some on TV and facebook.  (The reason for facebook was that I wanted to promote my online comics, and got somewhat more involved than I wanted to.)

But the point is that I took that free time and did something with it.  I love to tell stories, draw, and paint and had supplies that had been given to me by friends and family over the years and due to working full time never had the time to pursue any of these.  So I took that opportunity and started writing, drawing, and painting as much as I could and I learned so much just even by myself.  If I had not done so, I would not have been accepted into graduate art school.  Nothing would have happened.  I’d be still watching TV wishing I could do something with my life.  Now I have goals that actually have strength and potential for really happening.

And just for argument sake I will give you an example of a person who was unemployed, divorced, and a single parent that seized that free time she had and turned it into something tremendous, this of course is J.K. Rowling the author of the Harry Potter series.  Now, I am not saying it will happen all over night and everything will be fabulous.  The paintings that got me into graduate art school took me 4 years to paint and I am still working on the graphical novels as well, and they are slowly gaining popularity, but if I had done nothing…..then nothing would have happened.

Do something with that free time that will open doors for your future.  Dream a little and be persistent about it.  Don’t give up.  Pick something you are passionate about and run with it, explore it, and make it a part of your future.  Seize it!

G. Winkler ©2012

Gretchen Winkler is a Writer, Artist, Radio Show Co-Host, Costume Designer, and ordered Knight. For the past 20 years she has authored several informational websites, started several technical companies, and has been an avid student of art, literature, history, technology.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Goals, Inspiration, Preparation

Leave a Reply

