Revisiting the “What an Artist should avoid Blog”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Altered portrait originally painted by Wilda Gretzinger of Lake Oswego, OR

Since composing the “What every Artist should avoid doing” Blog, I have discovered many more details concerning the “noble gentleman” that I referred to in the article.  It turns out this person is not noble at all in any fashion.    I also suspect that he had me alter the portrait of his daughters without his real mother’s permission (She is the artist of the portrait.).  This is actually a very sad story about person who obviously loves money and con games more than his family or anyone who would be fooled into being his friend.  Any person who would have a portrait of their daughters that was painted lovingly by their mother and  altered to be used in “scenarios” for fooling people into believing this person’s delusions about noble heritage and intellectual standing to gain money, power, and favors from others has got to be the lowest of low.

I really hate being used and lied to and I feel deeply concerned that my artwork could be used to fool another person into believing this person’s lies.  First of all I painted the heraldry and never received anything for this effort.   I was under the impression that this man was indeed a member of a noble family and that he was legally licensed and educated as a Doctor of Psychiatry since none of his family or friends ever said otherwise to me.

Heraldry that he requested to be painted on the painting.

Heraldry that he requested to be put on the painting and according to the von Bothmer family in Europe, he has no claim to use.

So here is my advice to anyone thinking about associating with this person, check and research everything he claims.  If he says he retains the right of a noble title from the von Bothmer family, then write to the family in Europe and ask them.  Or if you can’t find them, contact the Germany Consulates here in the US.  If he claims to be an expert in some profession, then contact those that regulate those kind of professionals.  Heck, ask him to write an intelligently composed paragraph by himself.  Don’t get robbed of your time, your energy, your dreams, your ideas, your friends, or your money.

This is my opinion, and I think anyone working with this person should do the research I suggest.

G. Winkler ©2013

Gretchen Winkler is a Writer, Artist, Radio Show Co-Host, Costume Designer, and ordered Knight. For the past 20 years she has authored several informational websites, started several technical companies, and has been an avid student of art, literature, history, technology.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Art, Culture, Education, Heraldry, Painting
7 comments on “Revisiting the “What an Artist should avoid Blog”
  1. Cassandra says:

    I knew George Davis back in the 70s when we attended USA in Mobile AL. He took some Psychiatry courses and he took Russian, but never retained much. In those days he went by Prince Georgia Alexseiavich Romanoff Rightful heir to the throne of Russia. We took to calling him Noodles Romanoff, the mad prince. He even had a seal made of gold(brass actually. He thought most people didn’t know the difference except he had to polish it all the time which of course you don’t have to do with real gold. You would not be the first to be taken in by the mad czar and you won’t be the last. What amazes me is how he has not been arrested for the stuff he pulls. He’s really not that good of a con man, but he does have a silver tongue. His mother Wilda once told me he could sell refrigerators to Eskimos.

    Like

    • G. Winkler says:

      Well, “Noodles” had a bunch of professional people in his chorus of refrigerator salesmen that made his sales technique more believable. He’s hurt a lot people. And yah, he was still partially spewing the crackpot Romanov thing amongst others… I don’t want to see anyone else get hurt. The world is messed up enough as it is.

      Like

      • Cassandra says:

        We were best friends for nearly two decades but it was pretty much harmless and fun. Later he started crossing the line and I raised objections which led to our falling out. I’ve tried to keep tabs and whenever I see him pop up I try to earn people. Please feel free to use my comments as you see fit.

        Like

  2. Cassandra says:

    That should have been warn not earn.

    Like

  3. Well this just sucks.. You may find this hard to believe but I am the half sister of George Davis. I have been trying to find information about my father Charles E. Davis and my 3 half brothers for 35 years and I finally clicked on the right info on ancestry.com and it was like everything came together.. I am looking for just one positive article on this man, just one…. I am so disappointed. I am hoping to find Paul and Mark Davis turned out much better.. my search continues.. If you would like to hear my story, let me know. Also, “Cassandra” I believe I sent you a message on Ancestry.com message board. ( I think I did but now I cant find it) if I didn’t would you please contact me at emcgowan0112@att.net? thank you. Liz

    Like

    • G. Winkler says:

      Liz, I am so sorry. I was told by George that Paul Davis had passed away some years ago. One story had him dying of AIDs and another had him committing suicide. I don’t know which is true or even if it was true. I have not been able to confirm that story. As for a brother named Mark, he may be the person claiming to be a relative of Wilda’s using a different last name. Hamilton? They have a lot of aliases. I do not wish to have anything to do with them. None of us were ever told of a sister existing.

      Like

      • Thank you so much for responding.. I could never have imagined that this is the way it would turn out.. My mother Donna Riopelle worked with Charles Davis (Georges father) at McDonnell Douglas, I believe it was in Santa Monica They had an affair and she became pregnant with me in 1957. I was born in October. She moved back to Detroit and had me there. I messaged George on facebook before I read all of the articles on him.. you are right, not someone I would like to get to know. Do you have any idea if Charles did indeed commit suicide in 1967? If not, do you know the cause of death? Also, there is record of Mark H. Davis being born to Charles Davis and Wilda V Hall on April 9, 1958. When you say he may be the person claiming to be a relative of Wida’s, does that mean they were estranged? I will try to find a death certificate for Paul Davis. Oh, also, I was told that Wilda had agreed to adopt me but under the conditions that my mother would never try to contact me. Does this sound like something she would do or is that completely out of character. Are all of these people involved in some sort of criminal enterprise or something?? Again, thank you so much for corresponding with me.. I believe I am on the road to some sort of closure. Liz

        Like

Leave a Reply

