Not what I expected….

It looks like my quest for the MFA degree that I had wanted may be coming to an end without a happy conclusion.   It’s weird how things can unravel within a 2 week period or less.

I had been looking forward to the Color Theory class all summer long.  I had already had a Color Theory class long ago as an undergraduate, and I enjoyed it.  It’s curious how this one could go so wrong to the point that I am seeing the whole online education prospect as a dismal failure.

I am not even sure where to start on this most recent series of events.  It’s somewhat like an avalanche of oddness that I could not have foreseen coming.  It started with incredibly expensive materials that I had serious doubts that I would ever use again.  Have you ever bought gouache?  It is a strange quick drying paint that is difficult to work with not to mention very expensive.  But I was willing to look past this if I became a better more informed artist by doing this class.

This is where the real trouble began….

The semester started and the white paint that I purchased was all lumpy and then the information presented by the school set forth an extremely anal attitude towards everything being perfect.  I expected them to want everything to be perfect, but my paint was not, and I could have gotten through all of this had it not been for the greatest flaw in the class this semester – it was poorly organized.  This was proving to be something that I cannot get past.

So I decided that I should contact the school about this situation, which caused even more frustration and distress because I needed to write a clear thinking letter that was respectful while trying to figure out how to do my homework assignments with unclear instructions.  Unable to find important files to begin the assignment, I left messages for my instructor in three different locations on the student online user interface to try and get assistance and it took her over 5.5 hours to respond to my request for help on a Wednesday.  And actually, it was a fellow student who responded first to my pleas for assistance.  So the day I had set aside for just doing school work was lost.

So after finally getting answers to where the assignment instructions were hidden, I started on a huge project very late in the school week period.   The next day I had to work, so the time I carefully set aside for school was lost due to the poor planning and response time of the instructor.  I had to ask myself…..does this feel like a graduate school program?

This led to more discussions with family and friends concerning the class, and upon investigating the school’s reputation much deeper, we now wonder if the school credits will actually transfer to another school.  This is now in question.  This was part of my original plan.  I had wanted an online school fully accredited, so that if I were able to move to a location where a physical school was available, I could transfer my credits.  This was why I was also so worried about obtaining the best grades.  I don’t understand this and am extremely disappointed.

G. Winkler ©2013

Gretchen Winkler is a Writer, Artist, Radio Show Co-Host, Costume Designer, and ordered Knight. For the past 20 years she has authored several informational websites, started several technical companies, and has been an avid student of art, literature, history, technology.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Art, Education, Goals, Online Study, Professionalism
One comment on “Not what I expected….
  1. That’s really bad – after all your hard work Everything seems to have come together (or is that fallen apart..) all at once. Can you get any of your fees back ? I guess not because it would be difficult to prove the problems in an official way. Bad organisation at this level of education is a foreboding sign

    Like

Leave a Reply

