Looking for Inspiration

With my online school situation looking dismal, I decided that I needed to look for inspiration.  I am the type of person who likes to keep busy doing something.  It is in my nature.  And after a week or so of nothing, I decided that going outside was my best choice.  I love going for walks and just experiencing the outdoors.  By no means am I the rugged outdoorsman type, but I do love being outside.  Breathing the fresh air, listening to the birds, wind, insects, and even the airplanes buzzing about, and just feeling the coolness of a breeze or the warmth of the sun upon me – the great outdoors is one of my favorite places to be.

Unfortunate situation concerning our governments lack of planning.  This sign was also on the restrooms.

Unfortunate situation concerning our government’s lack of planning. This sign was also on the restrooms.

So I decided to grab my really cool digital camera that I acquired mostly for school purposes and set out to hunt beauty in nature.  And this is the first batch of photos that I have to share with you all.  This is a place on top of Mt Rose, which is part of the Sierra Nevada Mountain Range.  It is called the Meadows and there used to be a sheep herders shack up there when Nevada used to be the home of many Basque shepherds.  If you travel through Nevada’s high mountains and into the canyons where streams flow, you can sometimes find evidence of these brave souls who would stay out in the middle of nowhere tending their flocks of sheep.  The shepherd’s shack I think is mostly gone and this area is now mostly used for summer time hikes and winter time cross country skiing and sledding.

They put these little bridge walkways in so people would not mess up the marshy areas.

They put these little bridge walkways in so people would not mess up the marshy areas.

2013 Fall 02

The area would normally be much greener or thicker with vegetation but years of drought have been rough.

The area would normally be much greener or thicker with vegetation but years of drought have been rough.

2013 Fall 05

If one looks for beauty, they can find it.

If one looks for beauty, they can find it.

I love how the trees seem to direct your eye to that meadow in the distance.

I love how the trees seem to direct your eye to that meadow in the distance.

The Mt. Rose highway bisects this area and leads to the beautiful mountain lake of Tahoe, which for me is a magical place of my childhood.  I still see the lake’s beauty as being special and often wish I had the ability to live in such a place.  My grandparents had their home that they built in an area called Homewood.  So Tahoe is a place that I like to go to find the magical muse of inspiration.  It is the only place that I really missed when I lived up in the Pacific Northwest.   I love Lake Tahoe and Mt Rose.

G. Winkler ©2013

Gretchen Winkler is a Writer, Artist, Radio Show Co-Host, Costume Designer, and ordered Knight. For the past 20 years she has authored several informational websites, started several technical companies, and has been an avid student of art, literature, history, technology.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Art, Digital Photography, Inspiration

Leave a Reply

