Treasure of Family Memories: Part 3

Here are more amazing gems of fashion trends and nostalgia from the 1960 Winter Olympic Games to the rather vacant looking strip of Las Vegas, Nevada.

View from my grandparent's home in the Winter of 1959 at Homewood, CA - Lake Tahoe.

View from my grandparent’s home in the Winter of 1959 at Homewood, CA – Lake Tahoe.

Karen, Donald, and Grandma

Karen, Donald, and Grandma

The first few photos show the Lake Tahoe area and my Grandparent’s property in Homewood, CA heavy with snow.  My Mom and Dad stand as a young slender couple with a great deal of their life time ahead of them.  I am many years from being born and my brother and sister are still very young children.  I look at them and think of the good things and the not so good things that have happened since that time.  I have to ask myself if I could go back into time and talk to them, what would I say?  I have thought about this all morning while trying to compose this blog in my mind, but too many years of watching Star Trek and other science fiction genre shows and books have made me aware of the complexities of how changed events can alter the present.  Sure, I could give them advice and some aspect of our lives might be better, but what else would change and be possibly disastrous?    If I could remove those aspects and just focus on what I would say to them, I would probably say something of the following.

Dad and Mom wearing ski gear.

Dad and Mom wearing ski gear.

Dad, relax.  Your financial planning attitude is great and your family will be taken care of, but you need not worry so much about what other people think.  Believe in yourself and don’t be so hard on my sister and brother.  You can’t make them perfect, and your strict ideas will only alienate you from them, Mom, me, and other family friends.  Also, don’t eat the pickles with the Sodium Benzoate in them – it will contribute to the Parkinson’s Disease that you will get.

Mom, stand up for yourself.  Stop thinking that you are not as good as other people.  You are kind, modest, and honest.  What more do you need to be?  Your insecurities combined with Dad’s own fears will imprint upon your children making it hard for them to step out into the world and be brave.  Your influence upon us is so great.  Don’t under estimate that.  Having your patient listening ear is greatly appreciated as well as all the things you have made and done for us kids.

So that’s what I might say.

Next I found more Winter time photos from the local area that may have some historical significance.

Grandpa standing in front of the Olympic Rings at Squaw Valley.

Grandpa standing in front of the Olympic Rings at Squaw Valley.

Squaw Valley 1960

Squaw Valley 1960

SlidesG1959_06 C

Speed Skating in Squaw Valley 1960

People climbing on the roof of the building to get a better view.  I keep wondering if the roof was really meant to endure all the  human foot traffic.

People climbing on the roof of the building to get a better view.   I keep wondering if the roof was really meant to endure all the human foot traffic.

The Winter Olympic pictures are somewhat perfectly timed considering that the Sochi Games are going on right now.  What an amazing contrast to what is happening over there and what life was like here in the early 1960’s.  Here’s the Wikipedia link to information about those games, but my pictures are in color!

The Tropicana which is gone and do you see who's performing!  And that empty skyline.  Wow!

The Tropicana which is gone, and do you see who’s performing!   And that empty skyline.   Wow!

Grandma at the Boulder Dam south of Las Vegas.

Grandma at the Boulder Dam south of Las Vegas.  Okay, now it’s called Hoover Dam.

And finally the Las Vegas trip photos were fascinating as well.  I lived in Las Vegas for about two years or more during the late 1990’s and it looked nothing like this.  It’s incredible to think how much that city has grown in such a short period of time.

Until the next installment of retro images…

G. Winkler ©2014

Gretchen Winkler is a Writer, Artist, Radio Show Co-Host, Costume Designer, and ordered Knight. For the past 20 years she has authored several informational websites, started several technical companies, and has been an avid student of art, literature, history, technology.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Culture, Family, Photography, Travel

Leave a Reply

