Paintbrush back in hand with Odin

Since my disappointment with the Color Theory class back in the Fall 2013, I have felt incredibly empty and have deeply missed working on the art projects and learning.  I love learning, especially when being taught by intelligent thoughtful organized instructors.  Never underestimate the value of a good instructor.  And when you reach my age, or perhaps level of maturity is a better description, one does not sit still and accept poorly organized instruction.  So I am back on my own for a time period until I can hook up with a new school and see if I can get my very expensive credits accepted.

First stage was to get everything where it is supposed to be.

First stage was to get everything where it is supposed to be.

I am still working on my Norse Mythology project.  Perhaps when I am done I will have enough to have an art show of just purely Norse Mythology inspired works of art.  That would be rather exciting, wouldn’t it?

So back to the topic at hand, which is that I am able to paint again.  I just got up one day and told myself to just sit down and start a project and just try and work on it when I felt like it.  Amazingly, it only took me two weeks to work on this one.  I was driven to keep coming back every evening to work on it when I felt well enough.  So now I have another one completed of a set of nine pictures that I plan to do to explore how to visually express the concept of the Nine Worlds through my painting.  This one is number 5.  It is Odin traveling on Sleipnir to Jotunheim, which is supposed to be a place where the giants live.  With each practice painting I work out how I want to symbolize the portal to these locations, and when I am done with the nine practice paintings, I will paint the Yggdrasil Tree with the Nine Worlds in relationship to it.

Getting the color where I want it to create the best affect.  It also takes several layers of Prussian blue to make the space sections really dark.

Getting the colors established.   It also takes several layers of Prussian blue to make the space sections really dark.

This process has been beneficial since I have discovered that I prefer the paintings with the swirling objects that are smaller further down the travel vortex giving a more realistic appearance of depth.  I also have learned that I prefer the objects that have the more realistic shading making them more solid and realistic as well.  Still not sure if the stylized Odin on Sleipnir figure is truly compatible with the more realistic depictions of the portal, but it is very important to me to not give Odin an absolute defined image.  The reason for this is the spiritual nature of these pictures.  Odin appears to people in different forms.  He also has many names, Woden being an example of just one.   That’s where we get the name of the Wednesday from Wodensday.   He is also considered to be the inspiration for the wizard character, Gandalf in the Hobbit and the Lord of the Rings stories.  So giving him a face or look would be counter to the true experience for each person that encounters him, so remaining respectful of the spiritual side of the project is also important to me since I want the picture to have a universal appeal.

Keeping the Odin and Sleipnir image consistent is important to me.

Keeping the Odin and Sleipnir image consistent is important to me.

Almost done - need to add the stars.

Almost done – need to add the stars.

 

I think the stars in the dark sky adds that feeling of this being a way of traveling great distances.  For if these places are real - one would have to travel a great distance through space to get there.

I think the stars in the dark sky adds that feeling of this being a way of traveling great distances.   For if these places are real – one would have to travel a great distance through space to get there.

The pictures contained within this blog shows the process of how I created the concept of Odin traveling to Jotunheim.

G. Winkler (c) 2014

Gretchen Winkler is a Writer, Artist, Radio Show Co-Host, Costume Designer, and ordered Knight. For the past 20 years she has authored several informational websites, started several technical companies, and has been an avid student of art, literature, history, technology.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Art, Asatru, Heathen, Inspiration, Painting

Leave a Reply

