Pow Wow in Carson City, NV

Dancers 14 500wThis past weekend I had the pleasure of attending my first Pow Wow. It was held at the Stewart Indian School in Carson City, Nevada. The school is now closed but it was originally opened in the late 1800’s with students from the local tribes: Washoe, Paiute, and Shoshone.

While I support the idea of making education available for everyone, I have mixed feelings about some of the history of education towards Native Americans. I have been told of situations where native children were taken away from the families and forced to adopt a foreign culture. Now I have no idea if any of this happened at this school, but it is something to be aware of. The location of the school is a series of beautifully constructed stone structures that acted as housing for the students as well as the classrooms. (To see more about Stewart Indian School go to http://www.stewartindianschool.com/index.html )

Indian taco that we all enjoyed while at the Pow Wow.

Indian taco that we all enjoyed while at the Pow Wow.

My focus for this trip was the people. I wanted to take photos of the Native Americans dressed in traditional gear for the event. This was something that I have wanted to attend for …oh about…30 years or so and I never had the chance or opportunity. So when this chance came available, I jumped at the opportunity. And after attending this one, I hope to attend other future Pow Wow events. The culture, the energy, and the spectacle of this event left a really positive impression upon me.

I really feel that the Native American tribes offer a valuable cultural aspect to American society. This is a unique culture that we as Americans can claim as part of our nation. We should be proud of it and take the time to enjoy it and preserve it.

The following pictures are just a few images of this event. Unfortunately, I only attended one day of a three day event in honor of Father’s Day.

G.Winkler ©2014

Procession Leader 500h

Procession 500w

 

Dancers 01 500h

Old and young participated in the processional dance.

Old and young participated in the processional dance.

This woman wore a unique head piece - and I wonder if it meant anything or it was part of a certain tribe.  I am completely in the dark in regards to these matters.

This woman wore a unique head piece – and I wonder if it meant anything special or if it was part of a certain tribe’s clothing.    I am completely in the dark in regards to these matters.

Dancers 04 500h

Notice the bead work that this lady is wearing.

Dancers 05 500h

Dancers 06 500h

Adults and children dance together.

Adults and children dance together.

I really liked this guy's clothing.

I really liked this guy’s clothing.

Dancers 09 500h

Costumes are amazing in the back as well as the front.  Detail is everywhere.

Costumes are amazing in the back as well as the front. Detail is everywhere.

 

The women danced differently than the men.  They were more reserved.

The women danced differently than the men. They were more reserved.

 

This man was like fire or the sun with all the red and yellow.

This man was like fire or the sun with all the red and yellow.

Dancers 13 500h

Dancers 15 500w

Dancers 16 500w

Some dancers incorporated neon into their design.

Some dancers incorporated neon into their design.

Dancers 18 500h

Dancers 19 500h

As a kid having this part of your heritage must be exciting and fun.

As a kid having this part of your heritage must be exciting and fun.

 

 

Gretchen Winkler is a Writer, Artist, Radio Show Co-Host, Costume Designer, and ordered Knight. For the past 20 years she has authored several informational websites, started several technical companies, and has been an avid student of art, literature, history, technology.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Culture, Digital Photography, Pow Wow
One comment on “Pow Wow in Carson City, NV
  1. Donna says:

    Hi Gretchen, great photos. I grew up in Montana and we attended several Pow Wows every summer (usually accompanied by a rodeo, which was my dad’s favorite summer pastime).
    Not as many are held in this area (and to my knowledge, no rodeos are held in conjunction).
    Hope you have the opportunity to attend more in the future.
    Donna

    Like

Leave a Reply

