Inkjoy – inexpensive art fun with pens

Inkjoy 03 700w

It seems like everything I like, enjoy, or want to do is really expensive.  This really sucks when one lives on a tight budget, and I suspect that many artists and budding artists fit into this category.  So one tries to enjoy life and do activities that are within one’s budget.  One day while shopping for something else I happened to walk through an area that is being set up for back to school items for the kids.  For some strange reason I like all these erasers, pens, pencils, boxes, and notepads…  I have no idea why, but I do, and I happened upon a multi-color package of ballpoint pens that looked intriguing and were for a reasonable price.

You see, ever since I was a kid I liked to doodle in the margins of my class notes, so ballpoint pen became an art tool without much thought.  It was there as well as the paper, so art happened there.  My college notes had tons of decorative doodles.  And when I took college level Geography, which required detail notes about land formations and the ability to recognize slides of these formations for a test, my quick ballpoint pen doodles came in handy.  Heck, after I was done with that class – other people borrowed my notes so they could prepare for the tests.  I had quick drawings of each slide and what they were about throughout my notes, which made a big difference in studying for the final exam.

Inkjoy 01 500hSo to make a point in a round about way, I like to doodle with ballpoint pens.  And this package of colored Inkjoy ballpoint pens looked like fun.  So we purchased this modest investment of about $3.45.

So here are my first sketches and doodles done with these pens on Strathmore Recyled Paper.

 

Working on a Jedi costuming idea, so I needed to sketch out the details that I have seen. The brown pen proved to be brilliant for basic sketching.

Working on a Jedi costuming idea, so I needed to sketch out the details that I have seen. The brown pen proved to be brilliant for basic sketching.

 

Then we attended an outdoor concert where there was some serious waiting time for the guests, so I brought my sketch book with me so that I could doodle a bit.  I decided to use more of the colors and found them to be very vibrant and didn't smear much at all like some ink pens do.

Then we attended an outdoor concert where there was some serious waiting time for the guests, so I brought my sketch book with me so that I could doodle a bit. I decided to use more of the colors and found them to be very vibrant and didn’t smear much at all like some ballpoint ink pens do.

 

So art doesn’t have to be super expensive, and we can practice using simple tools that won’t bust our budget.  And practicing is so important to maintaining a skill level and improvement.

G. Winkler (c) 2014

Gretchen Winkler is a Writer, Artist, Radio Show Co-Host, Costume Designer, and ordered Knight. For the past 20 years she has authored several informational websites, started several technical companies, and has been an avid student of art, literature, history, technology.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Art

Leave a Reply

