To sell my artwork or not to sell my artwork? – That is the question.

I just finished this one and will post the details of the construction soon.

I just finished this one and will post the details of the construction soon.

I have two paintings that are ready to be sold. And usually my biggest problem is finding a place to have them available for people to look at. Well, there is a place that was set up by a local businessman that wants to promote locally produced items. His name is Dave Asher, and he has put together a store in what I call “Old Town Mall” and now it goes by something else…oh, Reno Town Mall and he is ready to receive items made in Nevada. Here is a link to his website: http://www.livelocalrenosparks.com/

Anyway, my point is that I have a location to bring my artwork to and Dave seems like a pretty decent guy, but I am having a hard time doing it.

Now in the past I have done paintings and have become emotionally attached to them, so this time I have hidden away the paintings so that I would not see them on a daily basis, so I am not allowing myself to become emotionally attached to them. So what the heck is my problem!?! Why am I balking at bringing down my artwork to his store?

Yah, sure I know the pictures may not sell. And I have selected topics that I think will appeal to the local population.   And yes, I am well aware of the possible rejection process that comes along with presenting one’s work to the public for sale purposes.

So I am mulling over other possible ideas of why I am having a difficult time doing this. In my previous blog article I discussed the fact that I have never had a mentor or a role model and strangely enough, many people commented to me that I did not need a mentor or a role model and that I should be the mentor instead. Which to me is not an objectionable idea, but what would I train or help someone with? I can’t even get myself to take a couple of paintings down to a store designed for people just like me. And as an artist I have never had that opportunity to show my art, but I do understand that work needs to be in a presentable condition. There is a certain amount of presentation awareness that one needs to be cognizant of.

Here is the first painting that I have ready for sale.

Here is the first painting that I have ready for sale.

Hmmm. How would I solve this if I were someone else’s mentor? I would go with them to meet Dave and look at the store. Then after that, if the person felt okay about Dave, the store, and whatever else may be on their mind, I would help them bring the items down to the store.

I don’t have that person, who says let’s go do that. So if I am in a rut or a hard place, I have to get myself out of the hole and it does not always work. It’s getting worse as I age. I have met so many untrustworthy people and have experienced being screwed over so many times that I have a hard time believing that anything will go right. There are too many disasters and disappointments in my life. Most people would have given up years ago.

So here I sit with two paintings already completed, two more started, and a bunch of other new ideas in mind. I need to get past whatever this is.

G. Winkler ©2014

Gretchen Winkler is a Writer, Artist, Radio Show Co-Host, Costume Designer, and ordered Knight. For the past 20 years she has authored several informational websites, started several technical companies, and has been an avid student of art, literature, history, technology.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Art, Culture, Goals
One comment on “To sell my artwork or not to sell my artwork? – That is the question.
  1. Donna says:

    Gretchen, You are not alone feeling the “what ifs, etc.” This is part of my business – teaching and helping people move past these blocks and into their goals!
    Dave Asher is a super great guy, big heart for our community.
    Go for it! Especially the State Seal during our 150 year anniversary. Let me know if you need an extra, gentle push 🙂
    Waiting to hear that they are in the store!

    Like

Leave a Reply

