NaNoWriMo Writing Experience

Participant-2014-Twitter-ProfileSo this was my third year attempting to reach the 50K word goal.  And sadly enough I did not succeed this year.

It seems like each November I experience some kind of distraction that cannot be ignored.  On the first attempt my Mom became very sick and I was enrolled in an intense graduate  level art class.  And to be flat out honest – my Mom is more important than the 50K word goal.  So the next year I tried to attempt the 50K goal, and I was asked to design and construct a major website for a TV show that turned out to be a total fraud.  I think only 2% of the people involved actually got paid anything and all the sponsors that gave product samples got screwed.  The website I developed was worth $30K, and that is using modest pricing.  I never got a dime.  So this last time I was ready for it and told people that I would be busy doing the NaNoWriMo project, and the only thing I would take a break for was the Comic Con.

2014 Cover for NaNoWriMo 300hWell during the first week , I got sick for a week from a bizarre illness that showed up after my husband got a flu shot – curious.  It came back for a second round later in the month.  Then of course, I had the Comic Con for 3 days of great fun, and then a few other things I had to do for work took time away.  I think what hurt me the most was being sick for a total of about 10 days during November, which is 1/3 of the time for the competition.

So I felt really down about this and decided to look at the efforts I had made in the past years.  The first year I did about 8K, and the second year I did about 17K.  This last time I did 27K.  Just looking at the data….I improved each year.  That’s not something to be ignored.  I also got a friend to write this year and even though she did not make the 50K word count, the competition got her to start writing again.   And well, to be honest – she’s better writer than me.   She needed to do this.

So despite the fact that I did not win the competition, I did gain some serious ground on my manuscript.  It’s a lot further along.  And I did better than I had in previous years.  Sometimes winning is not the most important part of life, but learning and improving is a major step in the right direction.  And I have decided that I will try it again next year.

I will eventually publish this novel.

G. Winkler © 2014

Gretchen Winkler is a Writer, Artist, Radio Show Co-Host, Costume Designer, and ordered Knight. For the past 20 years she has authored several informational websites, started several technical companies, and has been an avid student of art, literature, history, technology.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Writing

Leave a Reply

