The Year of Waiting

The New is going to start soon.

The new year is going to start soon.

Year 2014 was the year of waiting.  So much happened and yet so very little was accomplished, and I find myself still waiting.  So many odd events occurred in the world in general as well as in my own personal life.  It is as if the world is completely out of sync.  There is no balance.  It is as if we are waiting for Anakin Skywalker/Darth Vader to bring back balance to the world.  But in our Earthly existence, I don’t think it is one person that will accomplish such a task but a crowd of many that can see past the marketing, the propaganda, the weak journalism, the fanatical religious dogmas, the excessive quest for wealth and power, and the “Kool-aid drinkers” who want to believe that their system and ideals are what is good for everyone.

I sound rather cynical here, but I do believe that there are good intelligent well balanced people out there that can make a difference in a positive way.  I hope I am one of them in my own small way.

Perhaps it is the Knight in me that makes me want to be  introspective and examine what has happened and why and if something can be done better.  I do this in my own life matters since trying to guide others has proven somewhat….. frustrating.  People don’t want to listen unless you agree with them.  I obviously have not mastered the art of presenting information in a tactful way that does not correspond with the general mindset of the “Kool-aid drinkers”.

So I guess I had better explain what a “Kool-aid drinker” is.  This is a term that I first heard from a friend, Gary Wolcott, who is a writer in Portland, Oregon.  He does movie reviews, writes advertising copy, and is a pretty good drummer in a band.  If I understand the term correctly, it means a person who just believes whatever the political party tells them.  They are sheep that unwisely follow whatever the wolves tell them and will argue most vigorously to the point of becoming violent that what they have been told is the truth.  They don’t investigate, and if you show them contrary data they will ignore it or say it is a lie.  How does one communicate with beings like this?  My goal is not to become a “Kool-aid drinker”.  I will make myself think and question.  I will re-evaluate concepts or stories on a regular basis, and part of that process is also looking at myself.  What was done well and what could be better?  Then work towards making those improvements if deemed plausible.

So what did I do this year?  Hmm.

  1. I tried to find another graduate school to attend to obtain my MFA, but was unable to find a program or a university that I was compatible with.  This was a disappointment.  I would still like to get an MFA or an MA.  My focus is writing and fine art.
  2. I was talked into co-hosting a technology radio show – User Friendly.  This experience had lots of ups and downs.  I enjoyed the process and apparently we had good ratings considering the situation, but about half of the people we tried working with failed us.  This was sad.  This project really could have been a really positive experience for all those that we worked with, but some of the professional levels that were required to do things right were not available.  I am open to trying this again, but we need honest and professional people to work with.
  3. I rediscovered my love for Star Wars and dressing up in costume.  I plan to continue with this next year.  Everyone had some much needed fun, creativity, and inspiration.  We even won a Halloween costume contest, a Wizard World Comic Con speed writing contest, and were stopped by many Comic Con visitors to have their picture taken with us.
  4. I may have found a good company to work for.  Their product is something that I feel will change the world in a positive way and working with something like that brings hope.  I am still in the process of this quest, so I can not say much more.
  5. Had to buy a new laptop and was forced to use Windows 8.  This was a disaster and it still is.  Nothing seems to work completely correct anymore.  The laptop is fine.  It’s the software.  I have no idea how badly something like this would impair the older generations that are not used to computers in the first place.  I can’t imagine how badly something like this would affect my 80 year old mother.  I still have software that I can’t install and hardware that doesn’t work right anymore.  It just makes me think – what the heck was Microsoft thinking?!?!
  6. I have not been able to work on my Observation Post 42 graphic novels.  This is a bad thing.  I don’t have the work space I need to be creative.  The clutter and crowded space is killing off my creativity.  We need a home with more room.  The reality is that an artist needs space.  And artists have equipment that need to be stored or setup for usage.  That’s a reality.  This is something I have been trying to remedy for 3.5 years.  Maybe longer.
  7. I have not upgraded the PourleMerite.org website.  This is another bad thing.  I started the process and was making progress and then my laptop decided it had to die.  That Toshiba had been one big disappointment from the beginning with repeated problems.  I felt really cheated by them, and that’s why I bought a Lenovo instead.  I heard good things about Lenovo from other Lenovo owners.   Also, the new operating system problems killed off the energy and inspiration I had for fixing the website.  This is a lesson to every business.  Think twice about buying a Microsoft product.  You need reliable work tools that your employees can count on to do the job right.  I failed my goal because my equipment failed me, and I was not able to get that resolved within a reasonable amount of time and money.  The PourleMerite.org website is a historical hobby website where information is presented without advertisements or invasive memberships.  It’s purely for research and sharing information.  It still needs to have it’s upgrade finished.  I plan to work on this.
  8. I took a lot of photos and did several paintings this year.  I want to continue this.  Practice really helps one improve.
  9. I participated in my third NaNoWriMo writing project.  I did not make the 50K word goal, but I improved and got my novel the The Knight School Journal farther along.  I will do this again.  Practice does help in all forms of art or any profession.  This is why I do the blog.
  10. I made the effort to try and experience local community events and see local attractions.  My husband and I may not have wanted to move back to Nevada, but we can do our best to make our stay here as pleasant as possible.  I even brought my artwork to the local store that promotes locally made items.  Now I have not sold anything there, but it may not be the right place for my artwork.  I plan to pick up these pieces today, but I got over the fear of bringing my artwork to a business location for the purposes of selling.  Conquering little fears like that are progress.  To be honest – I think the store is too full for fine art to be displayed correctly, but they have many nice items there.  I hope it works for others.

 

Come back soon again!!

Come back soon again!!

So it has been an eventful year.  Let’s hope 2015 is a brilliant year of doing great things and making wonderful improvements to a world that needs more thinking, and I will do my part again to do my best.  Thanks for visiting my blog, and I hope to share with you much more in the future.  Have a great New Year!

Gretchen Winkler
© 2014

Gretchen Winkler is a Writer, Artist, Radio Show Co-Host, Costume Designer, and ordered Knight. For the past 20 years she has authored several informational websites, started several technical companies, and has been an avid student of art, literature, history, technology.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Culture, History, Inspiration, Writing

Leave a Reply

