Creativity Well runs dry

Star Wars snowfun 01 1000w

As an artist and a writer it is important to keep practicing, so when the lack of inspiration or vital energy slams the creativity well, one has to do something to perk themselves up.  Don’t stay in the dark hole of despair, well, unless you are goth group song writer.  And for some reason this past Winter holiday season was extra energy sapping and lacked the feeling of joy despite the fact that I felt very fortunate to have such good family and friends.  Perhaps it was the universal mindset of planetary woes that led me down such a gloomy uninspired path.  I’m sure I could come up with many reasons, which were all irrelevant unless they were were the actual cause.  So what was important was doing something about it.

I decided to attempt an almost daily posting of my Star Wars figures placed in fun or interesting places and situations.  I was going to force myself – no pun intended – to come up with something everyday no matter how stupid or lame it may be.  I would do it, not just try, or worry about it being perfect.

So I am sharing my effort to push aside those uninspiring days that strangle the life out of every kind of artist.  Here are some of my better efforts to cheer myself up as well as anyone else who loves Star Wars, toys, science fiction, or digital photography.  When dealing with the moments dull energy levels and no creative thoughts, try something different. Do something different.  Experience something different.

And here is what I came up with.

Had a friend who thought these were real people at first.

Had a friend who thought these were real people at first.

Star Wars Obi-wan Stormtrooper 01 1000w

 

This one has a more interesting composition.

This one has a more interesting composition.

Using the environment to imagine what would work best.

Using the environment to imagine what would work best.

 

Restaurants proved to be interesting places to do this.

Restaurants proved to be interesting places to do this.

Star Wars Stormtrooper 03 1000h

Star Wars Stormtrooper 04 1000h

Sometimes my desktop was the place to find a setting by accident.

Sometimes my desktop was the place to find a setting by accident.

Star Wars Obi-wan 01 1000h

Star Wars Obi-wan 02 1000h

The Han Solo figured to be very expressive and easy to pose.

The Han Solo figured turned out to be very expressive and easy to pose.

Star Wars Han Solo 03 1000h

 

It seemed natural that Han Solo would be sneaking around corners of potentially dangerous places.

It seemed natural that Han Solo would be sneaking around corners of potentially dangerous places.

The dessert terrain was a natural choice for these two.

The desert terrain was a natural choice for these two.

Star Wars Han Solo Obi-wan 02 1000w

Star Wars Han Solo Obi-wan 03 1000w

 

Laurie Rockenbeck came up with the caption - 'No, really!! I swear, I left the millennium falcon parked RIGHT HERE!'

Laurie Rockenbeck came up with the caption – ‘No, really!! I swear, I left the millennium falcon parked RIGHT HERE!’

Star Wars Han Solo Obi-wan 05 1000h

My sister came up this caption for Han Solo to say - "Look, me and the dragons only had a few drinks at the bar. How the hell was I to know that Greenie would get the hiccups and burn down the joint!"

My sister came up this caption for Han Solo to say – “Look, me and the dragons only had a few drinks at the bar.   How the hell was I to know that Greenie would get the hiccups and burn down the joint!”

Pulled the Luke figure out for my birthday.

Pulled the Luke figure out for my birthday.

Star Wars Han Solo Luke 01 1000w

The bar interior proved difficult to photo in since there were so many reflective surfaces.

The bar interior proved difficult to photo in since there were so many reflective surfaces.

Star Wars Han Solo 04 1000w

This is from my latest batch which has several good shots.

This is from my latest batch which has several good shots.

There are several more days left in January that I will be sharing these on social media.  I hope this #actionfigurefun project will make your day just a little less dull.

Thanks for visiting.

Gretchen Winkler © 2015

 

 

 

Gretchen Winkler is a Writer, Artist, Radio Show Co-Host, Costume Designer, and ordered Knight. For the past 20 years she has authored several informational websites, started several technical companies, and has been an avid student of art, literature, history, technology.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Digital Photography, Inspiration, Star Wars, Toys

Leave a Reply

