Artist blues on customer service

This is the jar I received as opposed to the jar that was shown on their website.  And I was expected to pay for it to be shipped back to them.

This is the jar I received as opposed to the jar that was shown on their website.   And I was expected to pay for it to be shipped back to them.

Hello fellow artists and business humans.  Last month I wrote a blog about how I was disappointed with the customer service of Daniel Smith – the art supply company.  And well, I was hoping to have a follow up blog where I told everyone how they responded to my letter and cared about my concerns.  They have not responded to my letter.  That was a month ago.

I have to admit I am very disappointed.  I wanted them to have integrity.  And I wonder what that says about them as a company.  I really liked their products and even participated twice in their annual art contest.    So I am disappointed with them, but there are other art supply companies out there like Dick Blick and Utrecht.  There is even one small store here in town that caters to fine artists, so I can find supplies in other places.  Some of the paint manufacturers sell their stuff directly to customers now as well, so they are replaceable.

But there is something else that disturbs me about all of this.

I am seeing this lack of quality and pride in all aspects of business and professional trades.  I just recently went through a very frustrating 3 months with a job recruiter that apparently was misinforming applicants about the timeline of the jobs available for a certain company.  This along with a prestigious law firm that could not get anyone’s personal information correct or have people that could spell correctly.  Really?!  A law firm.  Those people are supposed to know grammar, vocabulary, and spelling perfectly.

I normally don’t like to write blogs about stuff that brings “a downer” feeling, but sometimes we need to be mindful of what is really going on around us.

I promise to come back soon with something fun.

G. Winkler ©2015

 

Gretchen Winkler is a Writer, Artist, Radio Show Co-Host, Costume Designer, and ordered Knight. For the past 20 years she has authored several informational websites, started several technical companies, and has been an avid student of art, literature, history, technology.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Art, Business, Culture, Professionalism

Leave a Reply

