Star Wars Universe on my mind

Ever since my husband and I with our best friend decided to attend a Comic Con as Star Wars characters, the whole Star Wars concept has been on my mind almost daily.  You see, I grew up with Star Wars as a child and loved the mysterious Darth Vader character.  I even made a Darth Vader costume out of black clothing, paper plates, staples, black garbage bags, white crayons, and old sun glass lenses.  It was pretty good for my age level.  We didn’t have the fancy costume helmets that are available now.  I wish I had a photo of it.

Love the art and story line for the Clone Wars series.

Love the art and story line for the Clone Wars series.

So Star Wars has good memories for me, and perhaps that is why I have been having fun taking photos of the 6 inch action figures.  We have a pretty size-able group of figures that allow us to come up with various scenes to photograph.  But photographing the characters are not enough for me.  I think I would really like to write a Star Wars novel.  I keep asking myself questions about certain characters and events contained within the works considered to be Canon.  I have also enjoyed reading several novels that are considered Expanded Universe, aka EU.  (I kept thinking EU meant European Union.  I was really confused at first.)

So here are my thoughts concerning the Star Wars Universe…

  1. Star Wars Prequel movies: Many people really hate the 1,2,3 movies that I knew back after seeing 4 and reading articles about Star Wars in magazines that Darth Vader had indeed a duel with Obi-Wan Kenobi and had been injured by lava.  Sure there are some aspects that I don’t agree with or characters that I find annoying, but the reality of life is that not everyone likes the same thing.  I don’t buy the whole Midi-chlorians concept.  It doesn’t make sense and it seems to me as a writer that it was done to explain how the Jedi were able to measure and determine that Anakin was the Chosen One.  Someone didn’t have enough confidence in the Jedi Knight concept to believe they could tell through other means that Anakin had this high level of potential skill.  This also means that all the Force users – Jedi and Sith – do not have free will.  These microscopic lifeforms are influencing and using others to have a battle.  Not cool.  I think a better solution could have been made.
    To me Jar Jar Binks is an irrelevant comedic relief character.  Yes, he is annoying, but not as annoying as the Jedi Council.  As a real Knight of an Order that used to have Jedi like skills – maybe not as fantastic – it was a moment for extreme frustration to see the Jedi Council and their over the top arrogance with young Anakin Skywalker and Qui-Gon Jinn.  My Knight companions and I walked out of the theater feeling pretty cheesed with the Jedi Council.  Most of us felt they were the cause of Anakin’s eventual downfall.  A downfall that also injured Obi-Wan, who was not really yet ready to take on such an unusual Jedi apprentice without any real support from the Jedi Council.  So do I hate the 1,2, 3 movies?  No.  They are what they are.  Could they have been better? Yes, but I think that is a topic for a blog of it’s own.

    This was not the fight of a frail old man.  Makes me suspect that he was holding back on fighting Mace Windu to get Anakin to help him.

    This was not the combat of a frail old man.   Makes me suspect that he was holding back on fighting Mace to get Anakin to help him therefore destroying Anakin’s happy future.

  2. Why was Palpatine so Powerful?: This question plagues me, but I suspect from what I have seen in the Canon level works that he might be considered something of an energy vampire to use a modern term.  He seems to really enjoy inflicting mayhem and misery on others and I think it feeds him.  I started to suspect this more seriously after watching the Clone Wars series when he vanquishes Darth Maul and his brother apprentice, Savage, on Mandolore.  He doesn’t kill him.  Then the Inquisitor from Rebels allows himself to die because there are somethings more frightening than death.  What would the Emperor do to him if he failed?  What did the Emperor do with Darth Maul?  How can Palpatine control Darth Vader, who is one of the most powerful Force Users in the Universe?  This crazy clever old bastard has the ability to cloud the Force for the entire Jedi Order on Coruscant.  This is no minor player.  I would not be surprised if he shows up again.  I have been told that some expanded universe literature have him returning in cloned bodies of his own.
  3. Fascinating character that has so much potential.

    Fascinating character that has so much potential.

    What Happened Ahsoka Tano and Asajj Ventress:  Well, Rebels has explained what happened to Ahsoka, which makes logical sense,  and I have to admit that I am looking forward to seeing more of her in the series.  I really like Anakin’s spunky Padawan.  As for Ventress, she was very stereotypical at the beginning of Clone Wars, but as her character developed, she gained more depth.  She is a wronged soul, who just needs to belong with worthy individuals.  She has a lot to offer, but the one person willing to give her the consideration she deserved died.  I could easily see her appearing again, not as a Sith contender, but as an opponent to the Sith.  She may also decide not to trust the universe again and stay a bounty hunter.

So this is just part of the reason why I keep thinking I would like to write a Star Wars story.  I think there is so much potential here for more stories that are intriguing, imaginative, and just plain fun.

G. Winkler ©2015

Please note artwork is not mine to give permissions to and are from Clone Wars series.
Gretchen Winkler is a Writer, Artist, Radio Show Co-Host, Costume Designer, and ordered Knight. For the past 20 years she has authored several informational websites, started several technical companies, and has been an avid student of art, literature, history, technology.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Culture, Star Wars, Writing

Leave a Reply

