On pins and needles in ……anticipation

I have a friend that wants to have a Star Wars costume made, and right now he’s in the process of deciding what costume to choose.  We narrowed it down to either a Mandorlorian or a Jedi Temple Guard.  Depending upon what he chooses – I will be suddenly immersed for the next month and half in either Jedi Temple Guard or Mandorlorian.  I think both costumes are great choices for cool characters to play.

One of the reasons for my level of anticipation, and perhaps a bit of stress, is that he wants the costume for an event this summer, which is not that far away.  I usually take my time on my costume gear and hunt around for the very best deals and so forth, but this has a time deadline that must be met.  So right now I am waiting…..  I really don’t care that much for waiting. 🙂

Sabine Wren - a character from Star Wars Rebels dressed in Mandolorian gear.

Sabine Wren – a character from Star Wars Rebels dressed in Mandolorian gear.

So how about I share what I found out about both of these character profiles for those of you that like costuming or cosplay.  First of all, the Mandolorian offers a bit of freedom of palette choice.  There are lots of color combinations that one can choose from.  Recently presented in the Star Wars Rebel Series the character Sabine makes good use of her artistic skills to make her Mandorlorian armor very customized, so one’s personality can really show through on one’s armor.  It’s very much like the Landsknechte from the 1500’s or even like the planes flown by Richthofen’s Flying Circus aka Jagdgeschwader 1.  Also another advantage is that many of the components are available online now by enterprising artisans who are catering to the Star Wars Universe of fans.  When my husband made his Mandolorian gear about 8 years ago, these sellers were not so readily available and he had to make many of his pieces himself from patterns shared by other enthusiasts.  There are also many groups that dress up and do activities dressed as Mandolorians, which opens up reasons to wear the Mandolorian gear more often.  So this costume choice has many positives.

Jedi Temple Guard in the Star Wars Clone Wars Series

Jedi Temple Guard in the Star Wars Clone Wars Series

Then there is the Jedi Temple Guard, which I have seen very little available online concerning it’s construction.  The character is also only seen, so far, as a cartoon character.  This makes it more challenging and easier all at the same time.  It will be up to me to figure out what the pieces of gear really are and how they are put together.  This is a rare and unique costume, so the wearer will be extra special, which many cosplayers may prefer.  At some point I imagine that there will be an enterprising group that will put together a unit of Jedi Temple Guards.  Perhaps my design will be helpful to those  in the future.  Luckily, I found an online seller for the mask and there are double light sabers available as well.

Either way, I think this will be a fun and exciting project that I am sure will stress the heck out of me just like the Wookie costume did.  I was really pleased with the results of the Wookie and so was the wearer.  So come back again for an update about the choice that was made and the process of building this new costume.  Hopefully, I can share some useful photos about the process.

Have a great day and hopefully all of you lucky enough to go to the Star Wars Celebration in Anaheim this weekend will share lots of great photos and stories.

Gretchen Winkler © 2015

Gretchen Winkler is a Writer, Artist, Radio Show Co-Host, Costume Designer, and ordered Knight. For the past 20 years she has authored several informational websites, started several technical companies, and has been an avid student of art, literature, history, technology.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Costume, Preparation, Star Wars

Leave a Reply

