Helm of Awetumn….

Banner Helm of AwetumnOkay, I could not resist the pun.  You see the symbol in the center of the painting is called a Helm of Awe and there are Fall or Autumn leaves…. get it?   The Helm of Awe is part of Northern Western European culture.  It’s a very old symbol, and well, I really like it.  The design is so well thought out.  It fits perfectly with the runic alphabet, so naturally that I almost feel I have to paint the runes at the ends of this Helm.

Darn!  I just realized I should have named the painting Helm of Awetumn.  That would have been funny.  Oh well.  I have already painted a rather bland name on the back.  Perhaps I will add a special note to this one. 🙂

So anyway, here is my latest artistic project.  This is what I call a practice painting.  I think it is important to keep painting to keep one’s skills in good form.  I don’t want to forget what I learned in those oh so few art classes that I took a couple of years back.  I do miss those.  And I so wish that my Color Theory art instructor had been an organized brilliant teacher.  But in these difficult times, one cannot waste their money on things that do not have any value. (So I left the class and eventually the school.)

Sigh.

First stages on laying out the design - this painting is done in acrylic paint

First stages on laying out the design – this painting is done in acrylic paint

Starting to establish the dark areas of the painting.

Starting to establish the dark areas of the painting.

2015 Helm of Awe 03 1000w

The painting really starts to change with the dark areas established.

The painting really starts to change with the dark areas established.

2015 Helm of Awe 05 1000w

Adding the color made me nervous that I would ruin the painting.

Adding the color made me nervous that I would ruin the painting.

Back to the painting…  I am not sure I am happy with this one.  I wish it had turned out better.  Perhaps I need to paint more often, but that would mean having the inspiration, time, and space to do so.  Sometimes these things do not always coordinate.  I think I can do better next time.  There are parts of it that I am proud of and other sections that I just could not make better.  An artist needs to learn when to leave a picture alone, and I think I am doing better than I used to, but not having a mentor is hard.  Good mentors always know where something needs to be done to make a project just a little bit better.  Sometimes a lot better.

Slowly I started to feel more comfortable with the addition of color.

Slowly I start to feel more comfortable with the addition of color.

2015 Helm of Awe 08 1000w

It was hard to tell what was looking good, so I tried to focus on sections.

It was hard to tell what was looking good, so I tried to focus on sections.

2015 Helm of Awe 10 1000w

Here I put in the placement of the runes.

The think lines of the Helm of Awe looked bad so I needed to make them thicker and decide what kind of outlining or color change would look good.  This was tough.

The thin lines of the Helm of Awe looked bad so I needed to make them thicker, which was an improvement.  Then I had to decide what kind of outlining or color change would look good.   This was tough.

I finally decided to use purple instead of black to act as a complimentary color to the yellows in the painting.

I finally decided to use purple instead of black to act as a complimentary color to the yellows in the painting.

I think my next project will be one of the other Helms.  Yes, there are other symbols like this one that mean other things.  This particular symbol was painted on warrior’s weapons and armor to bring victory.  The other one I want to do is the compass one, which is supposed to keep a person from becoming lost.  I often wonder does that mean lost in a spiritual sense or quite literally being lost.  Perhaps the ancient people of Europe wanted to protect the person in both realms of existence.

Thanks for visiting.

Gretchen Winkler © 2015

Gretchen Winkler is a Writer, Artist, Radio Show Co-Host, Costume Designer, and ordered Knight. For the past 20 years she has authored several informational websites, started several technical companies, and has been an avid student of art, literature, history, technology.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Art, Asatru, Painting

Leave a Reply

