Delay delay delay….DEEeee….Laaaaay!

The title of this blog should be sung instead of read.  It works better that way.

So you might be surmising from the title of the blog that there have been delays in the projects that I have been working on or planning to work on.   If that is your conclusion, then you would be correct.

So with so many delays, what keeps me from going stark raving mad?  Not much.

I am starting to feel the way Anakin looks.

I am starting to feel the way Anakin looks.

I feel a bit like Anakin Skywalker being told by the Jedi Council to be mindful of my feelings, and well, to be quite honest…. it’s normal and natural to feel a bit upset and frustrated by a constant barrage of problems creating a state of ineffectiveness.  That’s not a happy state of mind for me.  So keeping it under control has been hard and our current society is so repressed that there is no natural venting system for the average person.  I often wonder what people who are dealing with more serious problems such as the need for food, shelter, safety, and basic pain relief from a health condition do in a situation where there is no relief from the stress of one thing after another going wrong.

Anakin-clone-wars-anakin-skywalker-23121380-500-281Then I think about the fact that there is the scientific concept of probability that is way off the charts.  The probability that this many things can go wrong seems somewhat curious.  The situations that my husband and I have been experiencing is way beyond the normal amount of challenges that a person should experience per any time period.  And it’s not like we are running around screaming profanities at people and challenging them to duels.  We are pretty average  folks with above average problems.  It doesn’t add up.  So what the heck is going on?  How does one get a hold of this avalanche of strangeness?  Is there a way to fight it or does one just surf the wave of frustration and aggravation and hope to make it safely to the shore without too many shark bites?  I don’t have the answer.  I just plain don’t know.

What I do know is that I don’t want to give up on the projects that I have planned or started.  I know that much.  We are often told to pursue what we are passionate about and to put serious effort into the projects that matter.  This is hard to do with all our time and energy spent on life draining nonsense that originates from other people.  But we can’t exist without other Humans.   I am not a doctor, a lawyer, policeman, fireman, grocer, computer tech, plumber, and the list goes on.  We rely on other professionals to do their jobs while we are expected to do ours.  Has something changed?  It appears to me that the quality of professionalism and craftsmanship in the US has changed.  People just don’t care about what they do anymore.  They are sloppy and don’t take pride in their work.

I want people to take pride in their work.  And yes, I know that not all people are this way, but the number of people that are, is growing frightfully.  I know that many of our problems are based upon the fact that we rely on other people to carry out certain tasks.  If we could do it all ourselves, then we would not be having the amount of trouble that we have been experiencing.  Anyone else notice this?  If not, you are lucky.  And please know that the work you do, even if it is a data entry clerk putting in information into a computer database somewhere in a dark bleak office, the work you do correctly makes a difference.  If you do it wrong, then it will hurt someone in the long run.  And depending upon what type of information you are working in, it could ruin someone’s life or cost them their life.  Sometimes small jobs have big consequences.  So just because you are a little guy in a big pond, doesn’t mean that the work you do doesn’t matter.  It does matter.  Do it well.

Anakin-clone-wars-anakin-skywalker-23121379-500-281I keep trying to take these negative events and turn them into something positive, but it is getting to the point beyond my ability to smile happily in the typhoon.  I wonder how many others are just like me.  I can’t be alone in this, right?

I can’t guarantee that my next blog will have good news.  It may be more details of this strange odds defying avalanche of problems or issues as the PC crowd likes to say.  Let’s just hope that my heart isn’t broken by the time something goes right and that I can manage to bring forth the energy to do what I really enjoy and do best.  May the Force be with you and guide you down a path that is not littered with so many dark corners.

G. Winkler ©2015

Gretchen Winkler is a Writer, Artist, Radio Show Co-Host, Costume Designer, and ordered Knight. For the past 20 years she has authored several informational websites, started several technical companies, and has been an avid student of art, literature, history, technology.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Art, Costume, Culture

Leave a Reply

