Back to School with Color Pencils

Crayola Banner

Drawing I did with the ink pens I obtained the previous year.

Drawing I did with the ink pens I obtained the previous year.

Traditionally back to school for the younger ages starts in the US around early September or late August when the temperatures used to cool down and the leaves would start to turn to the warm tones of Autumn.  So the mad dash for most parents is to obtain the materials for their children’s school year.  Many of the big box stores put out huge displays that are ready to entice the school year shoppers with pens, pencils, crayons, paper, backpacks, rulers, and so forth not to mention the clothing needs for attending school.  So since these displays are so successfully enticing and I don’t have any children to purchase items for, I find myself looking at what is available with myself in mind and sometimes purchasing these items that are generally for a reasonable price.  Last year I bought some colored ballpoint pens that turned out to be wonderfully fun to make practice drawings.  I even bought a second package just in case I used them up.

Dr. Zeumer - my Zebra psychologist character.

Dr. Zeumer – my Zebra psychologist character.

This year a package of 36 Crayola Colored Pencils caught my fancy.  I love to draw and have enjoyed doing so since I was very young.  Wax crayons had been a part of my childhood and so was the Crayola brand.  So this item seemed like a good purchase.  What I did not realize was how much I would really like these very affordable color pencils.  Normally, as an artist I prefer my Berol Prismacolor pencils that I find yield the best results for doing fine art, but I don’t like to waste these pencils on doing practice sketches, so I had bought a set from Michaels for doing practice work.  But the pencils from Michaels are too waxy.  They don’t blend or shade well, so the idea of finding another affordable set for doodling was ideal.  So imagine my surprise and pleasure by discovering a new type of color pencil that works better and is very affordable.

Exploring ideas for a new character that functions as a therapists to fictional characters.

Exploring ideas for a new character that functions as a psychological therapist to fictional characters.

Not only are the Crayola Color Pencils affordable, they blend well, have a nice variety of shades, and so far the  leads do not break like some of the other types of art pencils.  I have not dropped any of them yet, so they have not been fully tested for durability, but as of the moment, they are quite sturdy.  Perhaps Crayola designed them for children’s rough usage.

Sketch of Nude female

Sketch of Nude female

Sketch of Padme'

Sketch of Padme’

Additional sketch of Dr. Zeumer

Additional sketch of Dr. Zeumer

My final assessment concerning these color pencils is that buying these for your children will not only be practical, but they may enhance or encourage artistic development.  Art supplies can be very expensive and this artist appreciates a good product when she finds one.

G. Winkler ©2015

Gretchen Winkler is a Writer, Artist, Radio Show Co-Host, Costume Designer, and ordered Knight. For the past 20 years she has authored several informational websites, started several technical companies, and has been an avid student of art, literature, history, technology.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Art, Education

Leave a Reply

