NaNoWriMo Preparation

This event with the group supports helps to get writers to write and explore their potential. I fully recommend it. http://nanowrimo.org/

This event with the group support helps to get writers to write and explore their potential. I fully recommend it. http://nanowrimo.org/

It is two weeks before the NaNoWriMo writing event starts in November.  This will be my fourth time participating in this event.  I have never made the goal of 50K, but each year despite all the stupid stuff that happens to me, I do improve each time.  This time I will be working on a new story.  And I will be taking a completely different approach to this time’s story than the Knight School Journal.

The Knight School Journal is about a boy on a journey of finding out that there is more to life than what he had originally thought and that he has the potential to be more.  The story is about Templar Knights, which despite what some may think, they are not gone and were not murdered out of existence.  They survived.  The hero of my story despite the many small and a few major challenges set before him will also learn that he can survive too.  But what is different about this story and the one I plan to write is that I wrote the Knight School Journal without any planning.  The story just came to me, and now I am at a point about halfway through, that I need to make some decisions and I need time.  So I need to work on a new story for this year’s event.

With characters like these one needs to be able to tell a story that goes with it.

With characters like these one needs to be able to tell a story that goes with it.

My new story came out of curious origins.  It came out of a costume for Halloween.  Needless to say, I have not been shy about my love for Star Wars and for having fun designing and building costumes.  So after I made the costume, I discovered I needed an explanation to go with my gear.  Who was I?  Why do I look the way I do?  I was not a scripted Star Wars character.  I was a Jedi, but I looked different, which meant explaining things.  Well, one  starts to explain one aspect and then one starts thinking and imagining what were the events involved concerning such a character.  And before you know it, you have a story.

The ideas kept coming forth without any effort as if the story wanted to be told.  I came up with names and backgrounds for my husband’s Mando merc character and decided to use the Canon character Gungi for our best pal, who dresses as a Wookiee.  So this is what I have been outlining for the past couple of months and have decided to use for my novel this November 2015.  I will write my Star Wars story.  I will finish it.   As to whether I will finish the whole thing in November – I have my doubts about that, but I think I can get a big chunk of it written in November.  50K words would be an ideal amount to write and perhaps more.  To be truthful, I don’t think the writing part will be the biggest battle, it will be getting published.  Being published is my goal and dream for this work.  I want it to be published as a Star Wars Canon piece of work.  I have already done hours of research and reading to prepare the outline.  I have re-watched the Clone Wars and the movies to get answers and ideas.  And now I am closely watching the Star Wars Rebels series as well.  I want this to compliment the stories that have already been told and work well with the ones to come.

I would like to suggest to any NaNoWriMo participants who are having a hard time getting inspired about what to write – if you do Cosplay or like dressing up in Halloween costumes, then perhaps you can find your inspiration in the costumes you select.

Keep checking in, and I will keep writing about the projects that  inspire me.

Gretchen Winkler ©2015

 

Gretchen Winkler is a Writer, Artist, Radio Show Co-Host, Costume Designer, and ordered Knight. For the past 20 years she has authored several informational websites, started several technical companies, and has been an avid student of art, literature, history, technology.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Star Wars, Writing

Leave a Reply

