The Force has really awakened for me

Spooky Jedi Snow fun 06a Banner

I am currently in a holding pattern again, but this time it is for better reasons than in the past.  I am waiting for contracts to be put together, gone over by lawyers, and then to be signed.  I am on the doorstep of my lifelong dream of publishing a novel.  And not just going and having it printed for myself, but people actually believing in me and going to bat for me at the publishers.  It’s not a certain thing, and there is still much work to be done.  There are no participant trophies in real life.  It’s the Yodi saying, “Do. Or do not. There is no try.”  – The Empire Strikes Back.

So with this in mind I either fail or succeed and all my efforts will be towards success as the goal.  And if I fail, then I get up, dust myself off, and do it again.  And perhaps that next effort will be with new knowledge.  I have been down this path many times already, but this time I have an ally.  I have someone who believes in me that is knowledgeable about publishing and Star Wars.  And I am in the process of making this person my literary agent, which is the best friend that a writer could get in this profession.

It was a long held belief of mine that obtaining a literary agent was just as difficult as getting a publisher to read your manuscript, so how did I manage to get a literary agent interested in my work?

Well, first one has to have something for them to read that is worth their time, and my unfinished manuscript about a school for Templar Knights is what caught his attention.  I worked on this manuscript for three years during the NaNoWriMo event that is held every year in November.  I wrote different sections of the story and it is currently halfway completed.  I put a great deal of time and effort into this piece.  I researched the area around Toronto, Canada, and used other references from real life that I could call upon.  I edited and proofed the sections that I had completed many times over.  It was a labor of love and passion for the topic.  So what am I getting at?  I didn’t expect the novel to ever be published or seen by anyone, who would care in the literary world.  I wrote it for a certain group of people with love and dedication.  The work I put into it was not a waste of time.  Don’t let people crush your dreams because they don’t understand the value of your efforts.  If I had not written this piece of work, I would not be sitting here waiting for contracts to be completed.

Doing things that are difficult and doing the work involved is not a waste of time.  Don’t settle for a silly participant trophy.  You can do more than that.  And when you fail, that’s just experience and knowledge for the next effort that will build your ability to achieve your goals.  I know.  I have been writing novel sized works since I was in Middle School with no success until now.  Currently, I am on the doorstep now, but I will make it through that doorway and into the building.   Perseverance.  Dedication.  Practice.  It’s up to you to create the foundation and not someone else.  Make that opportunity happen by being prepared to show the quality of your efforts.

May the Force be with you in your dreams and goals no matter what universe they are in.

G. Winkler ©2016

Gretchen Winkler is a Writer, Artist, Radio Show Co-Host, Costume Designer, and ordered Knight. For the past 20 years she has authored several informational websites, started several technical companies, and has been an avid student of art, literature, history, technology.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Art, Star Wars, Writing

Leave a Reply

