Kage Warrior: Star Wars the Clone Wars Series Costume

So I have been busy lately and have not had much time to write for my blog.  I have a new costume that I have been working on that is a Kage Warrior from the Star Wars Clone Wars series as well as the update to my friend’s Wookiee costume.  He was originally a generic Wookiee, but as time has gone on he showed an interest in playing Gungi, and well, that has turned into a whole bunch of little projects.  His gear needed to be updated.  Gungi wears special gear, carries a lightsaber, and has a unique facial feature of the one long fang.  Now with all this costume work, I am working on writing a set of Star Wars novels that I hope to get published someday.

There is a lot of research involved in the books as well as the costumes, so I apologize for neglecting the blog.  Especially to those that find it useful or interesting.

Having silly fun amongst the guests of the Crawl Reno event. Drunk people can be somewhat unaware of spinning lightsaber blades. One really has to be a Jedi at these events. Always mindful of one's surroundings.

Having silly fun amongst the guests of the Crawl Reno event. Drunk people can be somewhat unaware of spinning lightsaber blades. One really has to be a Jedi at these events. Always mindful of one’s surroundings.

Just recently my husband and I decided to go have some fun and went to one of those dress up and walk to various bar scenarios – you know pub crawls, but in costume.  This particular event had a lightsaber battle as part of the theme, so how could we resist?  Anytime I can wander around in public carrying my lightsaber is a happy day.  It’s even better when I can wear the costumes too.  Yah, I’m a big kid.  But I will let you in on a little secret…..this is great for my research for the stories I am writing.  Wearing the clothing and gear for various characters can actually give me a better insight into the types of people they are.  Think about the Imperial officers and how sharply dressed they are.  No wrinkles on their uniforms, everything matches perfectly, no rips or stains, and the clothing is perfectly tailored to the person’s body.  Put yourself into this costume and think about trying to maintain this look throughout the day and being impressive and sharp all the time.  No wonder why the Imperial army looks a bit tightly wound.  They are stressed.  So I like to make some of the costumes of the types of characters that are in my stories.  It makes them more real to me.  And hopefully more real to my future readers.

Kage gloves 03 1000w

So I wore part of my new Kage Warrior costume to this pub crawl to see how comfortable it was.  I wasn’t planning to compete in any costume contest – just go out and have fun.  I wanted to test the comfort of the costume.  And well, I learned something.  I bought some simple cotton gloves to adhere the gold armor pieces to.  I wanted the cotton because I am always so warm at the comic cons.  So I was thinking that cotton is very breathable.  I forgot something very important.

What did I forget?  I found out as soon as I had my Ultrasaber in my hand and was using it and it slipped out of my hand.  The damn cotton gloves have no grip.  Luckily, my lightsaber did not fall too far and I was able to repair the part that popped off, but my heart sank and I felt sick.  My Ultrasaber is really bloody expensive and I love that darn thing.  It’s awesome.  So if you have to carry something in your hand make sure that you have a material that will allow you to grip the item.  Now I have to adjust my gloves by adding some leather to the interior of my gloves.  I will also need to make Gungi a new set of gloves as well because the Wookiee currently has soft fabric hands that will not grip a lightsaber.

Kage gloves 01 1000h

So I glued leather into the palms of my cotton gloves.  Very hard to glue.  I first used Ailene’s glue with my hand inside the glove to make sure the placement of the leather made practical sense, but some of the edges came lose, so I used a small amount of Gorilla glue to set the edges.  😦     Bad choice.  The Gorilla glue dried very hard and made sections of the glove very uncomfortable to wear.  Grumble.  Grumble.  I should have stuck with leather gloves or perhaps some old Isotoners.  Either way, I can’t wear the gloves I made.  So I will not be wearing this costume to the Sacrament Comic Con this year.  I won’t have it ready.  There are too many parts that need need to be constructed.  I am disappointed, but for me the costume has to look right and be comfortable or else it doesn’t serve its purpose.

Leather fixed the grip problem but the glue introduced a new problem.

Leather fixed the grip problem but the glue introduced a new problem.

 

So my advice is to test your costumes and think through carefully what the character is actually doing with the gear they are wearing.  Cloth gloves may look pretty or be more comfortable, but they may not be practical in the end and cost you more time.

 

G. Winkler ©2016

Gretchen Winkler is a Writer, Artist, Radio Show Co-Host, Costume Designer, and ordered Knight. For the past 20 years she has authored several informational websites, started several technical companies, and has been an avid student of art, literature, history, technology.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Costume, Star Wars

Leave a Reply

