Online Chinese Clothing

 

Okay, I normally don’t buy clothing online unless I already have seen the item before in person and have a good idea of what I am getting.  Just before Christmas season  I saw a red shirt that I thought would be perfect for New Year’s celebrations.  It was something that was not offered in my local area because I live in an economically depressed ……@$#&^$* place.  The shirt was pretty and looked like it was made of a soft t-shirt jersey, which is a knit fabric.  It was going to be a treat for myself.  There are pictures of it below.  So why am I sharing this with you?  Because I don’t want others to be disappointed like I am.  It is a website called Rotita.com.

bad-red-shirt-from-rotita

It looks like a pretty solid red that would go well with just about anything with nice long sleeves semi loose fitting towards the hips and waist yet form fitting at the shoulders and neck area and long enough to be a tunic usable with leggings or yoga pants.  Please note the statement about easy to return and the shipping time.

bad-red-shirt-from-rotita-2

The bows appear to be made of the same solid looking fabric – not ribbed- knit fabric.  Note how the tunic hangs in the back nicely off the shoulders and the neck is not overly open and the sleeve fits correctly into the bodice of the garment.  The other pictures show how the sleeve can be worn long or pushed up on the arm.  Fabric in this shot does not appear to be ribbed either.

First of all, I had no idea I was ordering an item from China.  I don’t care for the lack of quality of items from China plus the length of time that it takes to arrive.  So I was surprised when after I paid for the item and received my tracking number that it showed it was coming out of China.   I was unhappy about this but I thought I would keep an open mind.  Perhaps I would be pleasantly surprised.  The website said it would take about two weeks to arrive, which would have been in time for the New Year.  It took over three weeks to arrive with very slow customer service to respond to my questions concerning the item sitting in Shanghai for two weeks.

bad-red-shirt-from-rotita-8

Bleh!

 

When it did arrive, I was pleased until I opened the package.  The fabric appears to be a solid smooth knit in the photos online, but the actual fabric is a ribbed knit.  The bows in the back of the garment appear to be made of a solid knit fabric, but they are actually made of flimsy sheer fabric.  I don’t think these bows will last past three washing and three wearing of the garment.  The size proportions are all wrong unless your body is designed like a big fat potato with short skinny sticks for arms.  Needless to say, I would be ashamed and embarrassed to go out the door in this garment.  I will never wear this garment.  So what to do next?  Return it.  The website says “30 days easy return.”  So in order to do this you have to go through a bizarre process of contacting their customer service for an address to ship the item back to.  Then they grill you about why you want to return the item in hopes of making it your fault somehow.  This is not customer service.  This is not an easy return.  Buyer beware!

bad-red-shirt-from-rotita-7

Look how the shoulders do not fit correctly and how wide the garment actually is and the sleeves were kinda tight making my arms feel like sausages unlike the girl in the photo, hence one of the the reasons for ordering a large.  There is also a strange lining inside the garment that is polyester? and has a lot of static electricity.

bad-red-shirt-from-rotita-6

I am holding the sides to show how much excess fabric there is compared to me.  There is supposed to be a V shaped flap in the back, and you can see by the way the garment hangs underneath my armpits that this is made for a person twice my size, but with very skinny arms.

bad-red-shirt-from-rotita-5

Here’s a close up.  Please note the large loose stitches and weird lining that seems to buckle at the upper neckline seam.

bad-red-shirt-from-rotita-4

Poor stitching that will easy come apart after wearing and washing.

comparison-grey-1

Here’s me in a shirt that is a large that is made and designed properly.

I ordered a large since I have long arms and I don’t like really tight fitting clothing.  I am no teenager or fashion model.  Sometimes I wear a medium depending upon the design and fabric type.  I am a regular gal with a pretty average shaped body.  If you buy the right size that has a good design, then just about any woman can look nice.  I am just clarifying that I didn’t expect to look as good as the models in the photos.  The photos pretty much show how awful the shirt looks and how huge the neck area is on me. I could have gotten another girl in the shirt with me because it was so wide.

 

 

 

comparison-grey-2

Here’s proof that the grey shirt is a large.

I am still in the process of trying to get an address to return the item and get my money back.  I actually don’t know if I will get my money back.  Some of you may be saying that $25.92 isn’t much to lose, but if you live where I do and suffer from the lack of good employment opportunities, then $25.92 is a big deal.  I could have gotten something nice from Kohls or something on sale from Macys.  I am not impressed with online shopping.  It is not worth the risk unless you are buying brand name items and even then, if it is coming from China, it may be a knock off of poor quality.  I don’t need a lot of stuff, and what I do buy, I want to have last for many years to come.  That’s just the way I am.

So in my opinion, please be warned about purchasing garments from this online website – Rotita.com – the clothes may look pretty, but the reality is that they are a third rate mess.

G. Winkler ©2017

UPDATE: 01/09/2017

It is evident that this company does not believe in customer service or guarantee their products quality.  Below is an exchange between myself and the customer service and it shows how they do not want to refund my money and do not want their product back.  The document also stated that the item was shipped for free, but now they want to take back money for the shipping costs and expect me to pay for the item being shipped back as well.  They also want to try and get me to buy from them again.  Why would I want to do that after such bad customer service and poor quality products?  Once again, please think twice before buying anything from  Rotita.com .  I would hate for you to get screwed like me.

Support Center - Rotita.com

 

bad-red-shirt-from-rotita-3

Gretchen Winkler is a Writer, Artist, Radio Show Co-Host, Costume Designer, and ordered Knight. For the past 20 years she has authored several informational websites, started several technical companies, and has been an avid student of art, literature, history, technology.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Consumer alert, Online Shopping

Leave a Reply

